- July 8, 2015
- Category: Latest
If you’ve been charged with driving under the influence, you may be anxious about your future. However, you should not lose hope. Florida DUI law offers several ways for the defendant to protect his interests in court. For this reason, it is vital that you find an experienced DUI defense lawyer who knows the law and who can guide you through the process of defending your case.
DUI defense lawyers understand the specific defenses against a DUI charge
Many DUI defendants feel that their cases are hopeless. This is not necessarily true. Depending upon the circumstances of your traffic stop and arrest, you may have several valid defenses to use in court.
For instance, the law requires that the police have probable cause to pull over a driver for suspected drunk driving. The officers must have made an observation, such as erratic driving or a failure to use headlights at night that would reasonably suggest the driver may be intoxicated. The Fourth Amendment of the Constitution protects your right to freedom from unreasonable searches, and if your arresting officers cannot show reason for stopping you, the state’s case against you may be damaged beyond repair.
Florida law also places several procedural requirements upon the arresting officers. If the officers fail to administer a proper, state-approved test for blood alcohol content, or if they fail to observe the driver for twenty minutes before administering a breathalyzer test, you may be able to use these procedural mistakes in your favor in court.
The above defenses are invaluable to many DUI defendants. However, the defendant must raise these and other defenses in court on his own behalf. Experienced DUI defense lawyers in Orlando FL know the intricacies of Florida DUI law and will be able to identify possible defenses that may help you successfully defend against a charge of driving under the influence.
A DUI conviction can be extremely costly
At this point, you may be wondering whether a DUI charge is worth defending against. Some defendants simply plead guilty and take the conviction. As the DUI defense lawyers at the Orlando law firm of Scott & Medling point out, however, even one DUI conviction can be costly.
Florida law requires that a first-time DUI offender’s license be revoked for a minimum of 180 days. First-time offenders are also required to pay a fine between $500 and $1,000 and face a possible sentence of up to six months in prison. Repeat offenders face more stringent punishments.
The costs of a DUI even continue after the offender’s fines are paid and after he has recovered his license. The DUI offender faces the prospect of higher auto insurance rates and a conviction on his criminal record.
For these reasons, you should not face your DUI charge alone. There are DUI defense lawyers in Orlando FL who can help you defend your interests in court. Secure your future and find an experienced DUI lawyer today.
Share this article: